top of page

If I didn’t become a teacher

Sometimes I like to think what would happen if at some point of my life, I made a different decision. Went to a different college? Asked that pretty girl out? Learned Chinese? Where would I be now?

I’m very passionate about my job, as I already said. However, it was not my dream since I was a child. When I was little, I wanted to become a firefighter and save people.

When I became a teenager, it turned out that I was not healthy and sporty enough to do such a challenging job. I would never passed the selection process to a firefighter academy. So, I gave up.

It was not a tragic moment, I just understood, that it is not for me. I always liked to read, and my teacher always said good things about the compositions I wrote for English Literature classes.

I do not regret becoming a teacher. This job is also very challenging but from a different point of view. You need to always be open to your students, keep them interested and occupied, and very often help them with problems they are facing. I am not a phycologist, but I am getting there.

Do you remember, how in school when you were reading some book, it always had something to do with the problems you were having at that very moment? Of course, it was done on purpose. Some of my tasks are to show the teenagers that they are not alone, that we all have been there and to help them to perceive life in a more mature and optimistic way.


bottom of page